Indianapolis Board of Directors

We gratefully acknowledge these dedicated volunteers who serve on the Indianapolis American Heart Association Board of Directors.
These dedicated volunteers are healthcare professionals and business and community leaders who guide our many activities throughout the Greater Indianapolis area.

The Indianapolis Metropolitan Board of Directors of the American Heart Association was recognized by the American Heart Association National Board for being one of the top local boards in the country with the prestigious AHA Silver designation for excellence. 


William J. Gill, MD

Medical Director Cardiovascular Services, IU Health West Hospital
IU Health Physicians

Shawn Smith, Ph.D

Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township

Mark C. Jacob

Vice President, Capital Programs & Engineering / Quality
Citizens Energy Group

Sandeep Dube, MD

Physician Executive
Community Heart and Vascular Hospital and Cardiovascular Product Line


James H. Anderson, Jr., MD, FFPM, FACE
Medical Director
PTS Diagnostics

Devra Callaghan
Vice President of Marketing
KAR Global

Monte Curnutt
Vice President, Commercial Development
Roche Diagnostics

Philip G. Kenney
F.A. Wilhelm Construction

Buu Le Lien
Senior Director – HR Strategy, Global Succession Management, PM, Workforce Research 
Eli Lilly and Company

Jerry Smartt Jr, MD
Smartt Neurology, PC

Jonathan Sundheimer, JD
Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Lifetime Board Members

Michael Ball, MD, St.Vincent Medical Group
Ruth Rench, MS, RN, SCRN, ANVP, FAHA, Genentech, Inc.

Leadership Council

Anthony Altavilla, RedStone Communications
Andrew B. Buroker, Esq., Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP 
Jim England, RE: Media & Marketing
Marc Gerdisch, MD, Cardiac Surgery Associates
Jeffrey Hilburn, MD, JWM Neurology
Dan Krajnovich
Kathy Krusie, Community Health Network
Tony Lamont, Tony Lamont Enterprises
Moises Lopez, PNC
Bill McConnell, Lumavate
Mark R. Owens, Barnes & Thornburg,  LLP

Event Leadership

2020 Heart Walk Chair
Mark Isenberg
Executive Vice President of Healthcare Advocacy
Zotec Partners

2020 Hard Hats with Heart Co-Chairs
Steve Bestard
Senior Vice President
Messer Construction

Greg Gossett
President & CEO

2021 Go Red for Women Chair
Sunny Lu Williams

2021 Heart & Stroke Ball Chair
Doug Bowen
President & CEO
Bowen Engineering

2022 Heart & Stroke Ball Chair
Phil Kenney
F.A. Wilhelm Construction

Past Event Leadership

Heart Walk
Parveen Chand
Indiana University Health
2019 Chair

Ram Yeleti
Community Health Network
2018 Chair

Carl Ellison
Indiana Minority Health Coalition
2017 Chair

Mark Owens
Barnes & Thornburg
2016 Chair

Hard Hats with Heart
Julia Saltsgaver
Quality Connection of Central Indiana
2018 Chair

Dan Peddicord
Pepper Construction
2017 Chair

TJ Morgan
HIS Constructors
2016 Chair

Go Red For Women
Shelley Meador
2020 Chair

Jennifer Zinn
2019 Chair

Nancy Martin
2018 Chair

Cindy Adams
Allison Barber
2017 Chair

Dr. Virginia Caine
Marion County Public Health Dept.
2016 Chair

Heart & Stroke Ball
Mark C. Jacob
Citizens Energy Group
2020 Chair

Ersal Ozdemir
Indy Eleven | Keystone Group
2019 Chair

Al Gatmaitan
2018 Chair