Cryptogenic Stroke Public Health Conference Resource Page

The AHA/ASA convened the Cryptogenic Stroke Public Health Conference in 2015 to make cryptogenic stroke a national health priority by enhancing knowledge of diagnosis clinical pathways- and supporting the AHA/ASA’s goals to reduce deaths by 20 percent by 2020. The reference materials below are representative of the life-saving outcomes from the conference. Cryptogenic Stroke Public Health Conference Report 2015


  • Clyde Yancy, MD, MSc- Chief of Division of Medicine-Cardiology, Northwestern University; Past President American Heart Association
  • Georges C. Benjamin, MD, FACP, FACEP (E), Hon FRSPH, Hon FFPH- Executive Director American Public Health Association
  • Mitchell S. V, Elkind, MD, MS, FAAN- Professor of Neurology and Epidemiology Columbia University
  • Scott Janis, Ph.D.- Program Director, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, NIH
  • Eric Prystowsky, MD- Director, Cardiac Arrhythmia Service, St Vincent Hospital
  • Shyam Prabhakaran, MD, MS, FAHA, FANA- Associate Professor of Neurology, Director of Stroke Research Northwestern University
  • Patricia Lane, MBA, SCRN- Neuroscience Administrative Director Bon Secours Richmond, National Black Nurses Association
  • Rafael Alexander Ortiz, MD- Director, Neuro-Endovascular Surgery/Interventional Neuroradiology and Stroke, Lenox Hill Hospital; co-chair of Tu Corazon Latino
  • Annabelle Santos Volgman, MD- McMullan-Eybel Chair for Excellence in Clinical Cardiology; Professor of Medicine, Rush College of Medicine; Medical Director, Rush Heart Center for Women; Scientific Advisory  Board, WomenHeart
  • Mary George, MD, MSPH, FACS- Senior Medical Officer and Deputy Associate Director of Science, Division of Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Mark Creager, MD, FAHA- Director, Heart and Vascular Center, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center; Professor of Medicine, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth; President of American Heart Association
  • Ralph L. Sacco, MD- Chairman of Neurology, University of Miami; President American Academy of Neurology
  • Mary Ann Bauman, MD- Medical Director, Family Care Center, Women’s Health and Community Relations, INTEGRIS Health; Advisory Committee Chair, American Stroke Association
  • Janet S. Wright, MD, FACC- Executive Director, Million Hearts, Department of Health and Human Services, CDC and CMS
  • Mark J. Alberts, MD, MPH, FACP- Professor and Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, UT Southwestern Medical Center; Medical Director of Neurology, UT Southwestern University Hospital; Co-Chair, Brain Attack Coalition
  • David Baker, MD, MPH, FACP- Executive Vice President for the Division of Healthcare Quality Evaluation, The Joint Commission
  • David Likosky, MD, FAHA, FACP, SFHM- Medical Director, Evergreen Health Neuroscience Institute; President of Neurohospitalist Society