San Diego Division Contacts

We are the San Diego division of the American Heart Association and we can't wait to work with your! If you need more information on local events, volunteer opportunities, sponsorships and more please reach out to us.

San Diego Main Office: 858-410-3850

Leadership Team

Stacy Weaver- Executive Director, Stacy.Weaver@heart.rog

Teresa Contreras - Vice President, Development,

Eric Thompson - Senior Director, Communications and Marketing,

Chelsea Walczak Vircks, MPH - Senior Director, Community Impact,


Event Directors 

Chelsy Clark - Business Development Director, Go Red for Women, 

San Diego Division 2019-2020 Board of Directors

Chair : Dan Torpey
VP, Global Real Estate & Facilities
Qualcomm Incorporated

President: Thomas Hemmen, MD, PhD
UCSD Stroke Center

Chair Elect: Yameeka J. Williams, FACHE
Select Specialty Hospital- San Diego

President Elect: Robert Stein, MD, FACC, FAHA

Members at Large

Rodger Dougherty, MBA, APR
Senior Director, Public Affairs & Brand Communications
Kaiser Permanente

Ramón Hernandez, DrPH, MPH
Associate Director – Center for Community Health
UC San Diego

Diane Hansen
President & CEO
Palomar Health

Christopher J. Larson, PhD
Adjunct Associate Professor
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute

Susan Mahler
Retired Principal
Chula Vista Elementary School District

Lisa Murphy, MBA
Chief Administrative Officer – Cardiovascular Institute
UC San Diego Health

Linda Naviaux Niggli
Retired Senior Executive
Luxury Fashion Industry

Brad Schwartz, MD
Medical Director
American Medical Response

Ernesto Villanueva
Executive Director of Technology & Instruction
Chula Vista Elementary School District

Ethel Weekly-Avant, RN
Immediate Past President
San Diego Black Nurses Association

Matthew Zubiller
Chief Growth Officer
Smile Brands

David Zumaya, MS
My San Diego