Greater Des Moines Board of Directors

The volunteers who serve on the American Heart Association Des Moines Board of Directors include local healthcare professionals and business and community leaders who guide our mission and activities to improve the cardiovascular health of the Des Moines community – from health legislation to fundraising initiatives that expand and improve systems of care, research grants and education programs.

Board Leadership

Thomas Brown, MD
Iowa Heart Center

Sarah Borchers
Director Experience & Brand
ITA Group

Kris DeGraff
Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield
Vice President, Operations

Leisha DeSmet
YMCA of Greater Des Moines

Wade A Den Hartog
Foster Group

Robert Gallegos, MD, PhD
Immediate Past Board President
Cardiothoracic Surgeon
The Iowa Clinic

Angel Grubb
Community Volunteer

Leslie S. Hough, CPCU, RPLU
AVP, Underwriting and Product Performance Commercial Lines

John Irving
President – Central Iowa Division
Tri City Electric

Pamela Johnson-Carlson DNP, RN, NE-BC
Chief Administrative Officer
University of Iowa Stead Family Children’s Hospital and Women’s Services
University of Iowa Health Care

Izaah Knox
Executive Director
Urban Dreams

Craig Krimbill
Vice President - Chief Audit Executive Internal Audit
Sammons® Financial Group Companies

Stephani Manning
Innovative Captive Strategies/Holmes Murphy

Matt Meendering
Dowling Catholic High School

Janet Naset-Payne, RN, BS, MHA
AVP of Quality, Risk Management and Regulatory Compliance
Broadlawns Medical Center

Karen Rieck
Board Chair
Vice President Human Resources
FBL Financial Group

Lena Rydberg, DO
Board President
Physician – Internal Medicine
The Iowa Clinic

Jodi Schweiger
Executive Director Business Development
Director Employer Health Services
The Iowa Clinic

Elisa Sloss RD,LD
Senior Vice President Private Brands
Hy-Vee, Inc.

David Stark
Immediate Past Board Chair
President & CEO
UnityPoint Health